Sunday Thought July 12, 2015: Always With Us In Spirit

Hugo, while no longer with us physically remains with us always, so I like to think. Feeling that Hugo is with us in the butterflies, flowers, birds and the bees is a comfort to me.

There are times I feel I see little signs – such as a star on the pavement, or this The Boss sign in a window in my old university halls.

Last night, Martin and I went to our friends’ home for a barbecue. Our friends have two young daughters, aged 7 and 4. After we’d eaten we settled down to play some board games, one of which was Scrabble.

This Scrabble was a Disney version for children, and characters’ names are allowed as part of the rules. That rule led to all sorts of rule bending, particularly as we decided Star Wars should now be included – and surely one of the thousands of stormtroopers must have been called Joe?

Anyway, we were split in to two teams – two adults and a child each, with the elder daughter on my team. Towards the end of the game, she picked out four letters…an O, a G, a H. She placed the letters on the holder, and I held my breath as she then pulled out a U.

20150711_205312I had a little moment, feeling rather emotional.

There was even the perfect place to put the letters in our next go.

20150711_205432

An especially wonderful touch was the seven year old saying she likes to think Hugo is with the angels. Having been in so many situations with grown-ups being unsure what to say, seeing a child being comfortable talking about my son with no hesitation or embarrassment was absolutely lovely.

There are 100 tiles in a Scrabble set. Not being terribly good at maths I have no idea what the probability of drawing out those letters, and in that order is. Complete chance, maybe.

But I like to think it is Hugo’s way of showing us he was with us yesterday evening, enjoying a special evening with very kind, supportive friends and joining in the fun.

I wish more than anything that Hugo was with us still in person. But it is a comfort to know that Hugo is always with us in spirit.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Thought July 12, 2015: Always With Us In Spirit

  1. Katie / Pouting In Heels says:

    Oh I loved this Leigh! Sent shivers down my spine too, he really is popping up everywhere isn’t he?! To give you the nicest surprises 🙂

    Love what the little girl said too, children are so much better than adults at being able to talk about things so comfortably. x

    Like

  2. Mummy Tries says:

    Reading this sent a little shiver down my spine hon. I think it’s amazing that little reminders of Hugo are everywhere. Love what your friends 7yo said – kids are so much better at articulating their feelings xxx

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

