Another Nomination Request – The MADS Awards

I know, I’m want, want, want at the moment. Please nominate me for this award, vote for me in this other award. Thank you to everyone who has nominated me or voted for me – it really does mean the absolute world.

This time, I’d like to ask you to consider nominating me in the MAD awards, run by Tots100. There are 13 categories in the MADS Awards. The ones that best suit my blog are Best Writer, and – as conceited as it feels to even write it – Blog of the Year.

The reason I started blogging was to write, to promote Hugo’s Legacy, for my own therapy. I didn’t start blogging for awards or plaudits – and they are not the reason I continue to blog. All the awards in the world will not give me what I want most in the world – Hugo back in my arms.

Hugo enjoying a cuddle with me.

Hugo enjoying a cuddle with me.

However, being nominated for awards is undeniably a fantastic way of promoting one’s blog – and therefore of raising awareness of the issues that are so very important to me.

In the past year, Hugo’s Legacy has achieved so much – much more than I could have dreamed of.

I am proud to be the #MatExp language champion, challenging professionals to reconsider the words they use and the impact they can have; health care professionals have reflected on and changed their practise as a result of my posts; more people have heard of HELLP syndrome; readers say they feel better able to be sensitive towards those who have suffered a bereavement (whether a baby, or anyone of any age).

This excerpt from an email I received just last week from a mother who also had HELLP syndrome, and whose son also sadly died sums up why I blog:

I am plagued with a range of emotions, most of which I couldn’t put into words until I read your blog. It was like you had taken the words out of my mouth. Thank-you from the bottom of my broken heart for being a voice for those of us who can’t speak.

If you feel I deserve to be nominated in either the writer or blog of the year categories, please pop along to the Tots100 site and complete the simple form. Anyone can nominate their favourite blogs – bloggers and non-bloggers alike.

Thank you – your support for Hugo’s Legacy really does mean so much to me.

MADS_BADGE_EXAMPLE_MONIATE_ME_fw_

I'd love to know your thoughts...

