Please Vote for Hugo’s Legacy in the Brilliance in Blogging Awards

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate me for the Brilliance in Blogging Awards. I am pleased to have made the shortlist – and I would like to ask for your help again, to vote for my blog help me reach the final.

When I found out my blog had been shortlisted in the Inspire category, I looked at the framed photo of Hugo that sits next to me at my desk while I work. It’s all for you, I said to him. I’d rather have that gorgeous boy with me than anything else. I miss him so much.

I knew the shortlist was going to be announced yesterday. They were announced while I had been out doing other things for a couple of hours, and I returned to a flurry of congratulatory tweets.

So many mixed emotions went through my mind – pride, excitement, amazement – I was rather overwhelmed. Before I replied, I sat quietly and had a contemplative moment thinking of Hugo and everything that has happened in the past year.

As I described in the post asking for nominations, I would very much rather none of you had heard of me, or of Hugo. But you have, and here we are. My blog, and Hugo’s Legacy has achieved an immense amount in the past year. Readers have got in touch to say how much my words have helped them; I have given talks about my experiences; professionals have reflected on their practise, and I am honoured to be the language champion for the #MatExp project. It has given me hope, a purpose, a channel for my passion.

Hugo could not stay with us, and that heartbreak is something I will never fully recover from. I am so very proud that changes are being made, other families are being helped in Hugo’s name, and that he lives on through his legacy. Who would have thought a tiny boy who weighed the same as a tin of baked beans could have such impact?

It is a privilege to be shortlisted amongst some truly amazing and inspiring bloggers. Five blogs from each category will go through to the finals. A vote for any of the blogs in this category is very worthwhile – but of course I would love for you to consider voting for Headspace Perspective and Hugo’s Legacy.

Being shortlisted is a great honour, and progressing to the finals would be an incredible awareness opportunity for Hugo’s Legacy and help make a difference to more lives. I would be very grateful if you could take a moment to vote for me – thank you.

 

11 thoughts on “Please Vote for Hugo’s Legacy in the Brilliance in Blogging Awards

I'd love to know your thoughts...

