Sunday Thought 26/04/15

We Brits are often perceived as being reserved. The ‘stiff upper lip’ must always be preserved, no emotions betrayed.

How many times have you apologised for an outburst – whether that outburst was of laughter, tears, or anger? If you are anything like me, it will be more times than I can count or remember.

It’s a bit daft, really. We are all human beings, and we will often have an emotional response to things. We should never apologise for being human (unless someone is hurt as the result of an angry outburst, but that’s slightly different).

Sunday Thoughtquote2

Thankfully these days showing your emotions is acceptable – and in some situations even expected. I’m glad about that.

As this lovely quote shows, there is nothing wrong with showing your emotions. Indeed, showing your emotions shows that you care. It shows that you have a big heart.

I wear my heart on my sleeve: I will cry when something upsets me – and with joy. I will laugh heartily when something entertains me. I can be quick to show anger when someone has upset me, or someone I care about.

Freely demonstrating those emotions makes me, me.

I am (I hope you will agree) kind, generous, a good listener, with a strong sense of empathy, and fairness. Those qualities, I believe, go hand-in-hand with sensitivity and being able to show emotions.

I also believe we need more of these qualities in the world – and for them to be demonstrated more freely. For people to understand that showing emotion is a sign of strength, not weakness.

That means I won’t apologise for being sensitive or emotional (unless I unintentionally upset someone, of course). I am full of passion, with a big heart, and I will continue to show it.

What do you think of this quote?

6 thoughts on “Sunday Thought 26/04/15

  1. mummyofboygirltwins says:

    You are so right – showing emotions and dealing with feelings is so important otherwise they come out in other ways. So important to communicate and share anything and not bottle things up. Although easier said than done sometimes. Lovely post xx

    Like

  2. Tim says:

    Completely agree. There’s so much harm that can be done by bottling up our emotions. They’re a big part of what make us human, so we absolutely shouldn’t be afraid to express them.

    Like

  3. Louise says:

    I love this quote Leigh and agree that everyone should be free to show their emotions. There’s nothing wrong with wearing your heart on your sleeve – it shows that you are connected to your emotions and have empathy with others. I suspect I can be a little reserved at times but will show my emotions fairly freely in situations where it feels “safe” to do so. Lovely to meet you at BlogCamp yesterday x

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

