You’re Never Alone With a Book

Reading is often called a ‘solitary’ activity.

Fair enough, it’s something you do on your own, without needing the company of others –

(sometimes, to avoid the company of others).

You are never alone with a good book, though. Many happy hours of my life have been spent with my nose in a book, enjoying the company of its characters.

When I am in to a good book, I feel like I get to know its characters. Just like in real life, I have my favourites, and those I don’t like so much. Just like in real life, I root for my favourite people.

There have been times I have missed characters and the world they are set in when I have finished the book, so engrossed have I been in it.

Some books are addictive page-turners. Just one more chapter…

There have been times when I have sacrificed sleep in order to find out what happens next.

Books can transport you to different time zones, different places, different countries, different planets, different universes simply by turning a page.

Books can educate. Not just textbooks, or non-fiction: fiction can inform, too. If I read a book that is based on fact or real events, however tenuous the link, I like to look things up, read around the subject to find out more.

Outside on a bright day, feeling the warmth of the sun on your skin as you turn the pages.

Tucked up under a blanket on a chilly day,

Books can help you fill the time, to entertain

In the waiting room, on the bus, or on the train.

In public ignoring the strange looks when made to laugh out loud, or moved to tears.

Reading a book beats making small talk with strangers, though.

The book is good company.

Even in solitude

You are never alone with a good book.

 

__________________________________________________

 

Linking up with Mum Turned Mom – prompt word ‘solitary’.

mumturnedmom

8 thoughts on “You’re Never Alone With a Book

  1. Bec Cowley says:

    Leigh, I couldn’t agree more! I do love a good book, I have often lost track of time and ended up with near sleepless nights just to see what happened next. I’ll just finish this chapter 🙂

    Like

  2. Sara (@mumturnedmom) says:

    I couldn’t agree more! I get completely lost in books, wrapped up in the world and the characters, I don’t want a good book to end and there have been some books that I could have happily kept reading forever, if only they were endless! Having just read your comment above, I hope that you find your way back into books xx Thanks so much for sharing with #ThePrompt x

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Thanks Gill! I’ve always loved reading, but since Hugo I’ve found it difficult to get into. Concentration is one issue, as is finding triggers everywhere…I’m hoping this reminds me how much I enjoy reading, and I can get back into it in time. I’m sorry your Mum finds it hard to get good new books – can her local library order in new ones for her? xxx

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

