In The Space Between Breaths

It is in the space between breaths
That I hear you, Hugo.

You tell me “Don’t cry Mummy…”
“I love you Mummy.”

Sometimes I feel like you are stroking my hair.
Sometimes when I close my eyes I can feel your warm little body against mine again –
Skin-to-skin.

I try hard to not darken that beautiful thought with the last time we were skin to skin
But I do not always succeed.

You are not with me, yet you are always with me, Hugo.

I see you, Hugo, in stars all over the place. They are my symbol for you, that you are watching over me, always.

It is in the space between breaths, and in every breath, that I love you and miss you, Hugo.

2 thoughts on “In The Space Between Breaths

I'd love to know your thoughts...

