Stars in My Ears

The sky is full of stars, as is my home. Stars have a very special significance to me, because of my Hugo. When Hugo was in my bump and in the incubator, I sang Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star to him regularly, and he would bop away. Hugo is my little star. He is my Hugo in the stars.

Stars have a special symbolism for many people, for many reasons. Stars appear in some form in many songs – after Hugo, I am particularly attuned to picking up on mentions of stars in lyrics.

I was pondering this during my gym session yesterday morning: during my session on the treadmill I was pleased to be entertained by classic ’80s music videos, rather than the usual current chart music on endless, tedious repeat. Then Boy Meets Girl’s Waiting for a Star to Fall came on…there are many resonant lyrics in that song, but the chorus in particular struck me:

Waiting for a star to fall

And carry your heart in to my arms

That’s where you belong

In my arms baby, yeah

Oh yes. My Hugo in the stars belongs in my arms. Incredible how a once-cheesy 80s song can stab you in the heart.

This got me thinking about other starry songs.

There are a couple from Coldplay. I’m not a fan of Coldplay, but these stick in my mind: firstly, from Yellow:

Look at the stars

Look how they shine for you

And then there’s A Sky Full of Stars:

‘Cause you’re a sky, ’cause you’re a sky full of stars
I’m gonna give you my heart
‘Cause you’re a sky, ’cause you’re a sky full of stars
‘Cause you light up the path

Ellie Goulding’s How Long Will I Love You:

How long will I love you
As long as stars are above you
And longer if I can
How long will I need you
As long as the seasons need to
Follow their plan

While it refers to more earthly relationships – stars being above you – it is a beautifully resonant song.

Then there is One Republic’s Counting Stars:

Lately I been, I been losing sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be
But baby, I been, I been prayin’ hard
Said no more counting dollars
We’ll be counting stars
Yeah, we’ll be counting stars

I count stars, and lose sleep thinking about what should have been.

There are probably many others (Simply Red’s Stars is an obvious one by its title, but doesn’t have an emotional draw for me).

Most of the references to stars in these songs are probably about romantic, rather than motherly love, but it’s all about the interpretation, isn’t it?

 

4 thoughts on “Stars in My Ears

I'd love to know your thoughts...

