Blur/Focus

Discs slot into place.

Click, click.

Blurry.

Click click.

Blurrier still.

It is dark in here, I feel sleepy…

Focus!

Discs removed.

New discs.

Click, click.

A bit less blurry.

Eh? No, I said A.

It’s not?

Ok, it’s not right then.

More discs.

I need to sneeze.

Better not while they are fiddling with the discs.

Ok, try again.

That’s better.

We are getting somewhere.

One eye obstructed, then the other.

More discs.

More clicks.

Ah, that’s better.

I can focus on those letters now.

A new prescription?

Hmm…new glasses!

Out to browse.

To choose a new image.

There are so many to look at.

Focus.

 

 __________________________________________

 Linking up with Mum Turned Mom – prompt word ‘focus’

mumturnedmom
Prose for Thought

20 thoughts on “Blur/Focus

  1. Chrissie@muddledms says:

    That feeling when they get it right and you realise you haven’t been able to see for months – so familiar (I’ve started squinting at things even though I’m wearing my glasses. Time to go back again!) A great poem and a nice take on #theprompt. xx

    Like

  2. Dana says:

    I love this poem and how at first I wasn’t sure what was happening and then it clicked, ha 🙂

    But on a more serious note, I just read your bio and totally teared up. This blog is a beautiful and loving tribute to your strong little baby Hugo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maddy@writingbubble says:

    You’ve just reminded me that I really should go to an optician! Very good description of how it feels – the darkness and drowsiness and weirdness of the situation. Hope you find some fab new glasses! #ThePrompt

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

