Embracing my inner child: colouring-in as art therapy

Colouring-in is something I have enjoyed doing since I was first able to hold a pencil.

When I was about eight I even won a colouring competition. I was presented with my prize by a local radio DJ. The prize was a voucher for WH Smith.

As I grew up, I put away childish things – no longer did I have colouring books. I still enjoyed colouring and doodling though, often colouring in patterns on random pieces of paper.

Thanks to fellow blogger Beth at Betty and the Bumps I have discovered colouring books for grown-ups. Beth posted a picture of a piece of colouring she was working on. That was itΒ – I had to have a grown-up colouring book in my own!

bookcolouring

There are, in fact, lots of colouring books to choose from. I chose this one because it’s excellent value for Β£12.99. It is hardback, and the pages are thick, good-quality paper, meaning your colouring won’t leak through to another page (it’s really annoying when that happens).

The book contains a wide array of pictures to colour in: animals, birds, creatures of the sea, flowers, as well as a variety of patterns. Each of the designs are drawn intricately, meaning there is a lot of detail to concentrate on and lose yourself in.

Psychedelic fox

Psychedelic fox

Colouring is something I enjoy because it gives me the chance to be creative, and play with bright colours. It’s also refreshing to be able to focus on that for as long as I am doing it, and have no decision to make other than whether to use a purple, green or blue pencil.

It’s one of the easiest creative pastimes – there is no particular newΒ technique to learn, and there are no rights or wrongs. Just colour away using your favourite hues.

Owl

Owl

I’m delighted with my masterpieces to date. They have kept me purposefully entertained, and there is a tangible output – a problem I have had with relaxing activities until now has been no purpose to them (other than the relaxing, of course) – I can’t sit and do nothing.

I’d recommend colouring-in to anyone who would like to lose themselves in something creative, to give their mind a rest for a bit. Go on, embrace your inner child.

Parrot

Parrot

 

Flowers - a work in progress

Flowers – a work in progress

Share the Joy linky at bodfortea.co.uk

10 thoughts on “Embracing my inner child: colouring-in as art therapy

  1. Michelle Reeves (bodfortea) says:

    Totally LOVE this post and your pictures are amazing! I used to love colouring as a child and a teenager – you’ve reminded me how much fun it was. Now I tend to join the littles when they’re drawing and colouring but mostly I doodle absent-mindedly when I’m on my own (which isn’t very often to be honest.) Might have to join you and get the colouring bug again!
    Thanks so much for linking up at #sharethejoy – hope to see you again next Monday x

    Like

  2. Katie / Pouting In Heels says:

    Love these and that last one is fabulous! My favourite of the bunch. Please tell me you’re going to get this framed?! I too, am the proud owner of an adult colouring book and like you i’m really enjoying it. I find that it’s a brilliant way to switch off, get creative and just ‘be’ in the moment x

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Thank you! I’ve had such lovely feedback, I think I shall have to get them framed! I remember you saying about the colouring book – I look forward to seeing your creations! It really is a wonderful way to switch off and just be xxx

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

