Thankful

It is hard to be thankful when your world has fallen apart

It is hard to be thankful when you have a broken heart.

 

It is hard to get out of bed when you have nothing to be thankful for.

So I think of things to be thankful for:

I am thankful to be here

I am thankful for the 35 precious days with Hugo

I am thankful for our cuddles

I am thankful for the photos and videos I have of Hugo

I am thankful to be mummy to such a special little boy

I am thankful for Hugo’s daddy, who I love very much

I am thankful for my family and friends.

 

There are days when it is difficult to be thankful for these things

So I am thankful for the small things

Sunshine

Flowers

Something brightly coloured and sparkly

A cuddle with Fat Cat

A fuss with a dog

A kind word

A yummy hot chocolate

A glass of good Rioja.

There is always something to be thankful for, however small.

 

But it is hard to be thankful when your world has fallen apart

It is hard to be thankful when you have a broken heart.

brokenheart.jpg

mumturnedmom
Mums' Days

20 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. bettyallonby says:

    Hi Leigh,

    I’ve really been enjoying joining in with your 31 days of mindfulness hashtag on Instagram, which seems very much in tune with this post.

    The thing is, I have been trying not to post anything to do with Gwenn because I feel as if you’re not going to want to see loads of pictures of babies all the time. But then I think, “Well, Leigh must see a lot of babies as she’s a mummy blogger and an active part of the community” which in turn makes me think, “What a strong, incredible person she is”.

    To have gone through what you have gone through but still be able to “put a brave face on” and find things to be thankful for is amazing. I am guilty of whinging far too much and I shouldn’t. I don’t know if I could be as “thankful” as you if I were in your position. I don’t think I am strong enough.

    xxxx

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Hi Beth, I’m so pleased you’re joining in with #31daysofmindfulness, and am delighted you’re finding it helpful too.

      It’s so considerate of you to think of not posting photos of Gwenn. You’re so right, I see photos of babies all the time. I’ve nearly perfected the art of seeing without looking, if that makes sense, so I don’t drive myself to despair.

      Thank you for your kind words. If someone had told me a year ago what would happen this year and how I would respond, I would have laughed at them (after recoiling in horror, of course). We never know how strong we can be until we need to be – it’s just a shame it takes such tragedies to discover it.

      Lots of love xxx

      Like

  2. Louise says:

    Leigh, I so admire your positivity and strength in trying to find the things to be thankful for and succeeding in amongst your grief. I am sure there must be many days when it is incredibly hard to do xx

    Like

  3. Sara (@mumturnedmom) says:

    Sometimes it is so hard to find the positive and it is inspirational to see how you are still able to look for the small things that you can take pleasure from when you need it most x Thank you so much for linking to #ThePrompt x

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Thanks Sara. I really do think it is crucial to find the good in everything – it might sound Pollyanna ish, but otherwise, what would be the point of going on? That’s not to say it’s not difficult on many days, of course…thanks for commenting xxx

      Like

  4. thenthefunbegan says:

    The fact that you call yourself Positive Leigh speaks volumes about you. Your heart has been broken but you clearly have inner strength. Finding thanks in this new world you’re living in must so hard. Xxx

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      I set up my IG account and handle last year – but I guess it does say something about me. The fact I nearly died is never far from my thoughts, and gratitude for not being dead is something I remind myself of. It is really hard to think of things to be thankful for, but important xxx

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

