Creating mementoes of Hugo

As I’ve described in other posts, since Hugo’s death I have been obsessed with collecting and creating mementoes of him.

Martin and I, as well as close family members bought beautiful floral tributes for Hugo’s funeral (we asked for charity donations from everyone else).

The floral tributes.

The floral tributes.

A few days after the funeral, before the flowers started to fade I collected one of each of the flowers from each of the tributes to press.

The flowers included chrystanthemums (there were an incredible amount in the beautiful star), roses, miniature daffodils, gerberas and freesias.

Never having pressed flowers before, I researched on the internet what to do and how to press them for the best results.

A close-up of the star.

A close-up of the star.

Experts suggested that flat flowers and individual petals tend to press better than flowers that are more conical in shape.

Thinking I had nothing to lose, I pressed them all anyway – some as whole flowers and some individual petals – and thought I would see what the results were.

I lined pages of a couple of heavy books with blotting paper. The flowers and petals were dried out as best as I could, spread out on the books’ pages and left for several weeks.

The results were mixed: the individual petals did best. They retained their softness and deep colour. The miniature daffodil and a blue flower (anyone who follows me on Instagram will know how much I love photographing flowers, but don’t know what many of them are called) also dried out well.

The pressed flowers.

The pressed flowers.

Sadly, the rose went mouldy – apparently they have a lot of moisture and so are notorious for not pressing well. The gerberas also didn’t press well even though they are flat flowers – they were more squished than pressed, and lost their colour.

The next challenge was deciding what to do with the successfully-pressed flowers. I posted a photo of them on my social media accounts and asked for friends’ suggestions. They sent some very helpful responses with links to crafting websites and Pinterest boards.

I took bits of inspiration from many of those ideas for my own tribute to Hugo.

The idea was to frame the flowers with some other symbolic items. I cut out Hugo’s name using green craft paper with little multi-coloured hearts on. I was very pleased to find some sparkly adhesive stars in a craft shop – there are five stars beneath his name, one for each week of his life.

The finished result.

The finished result.

Having never created something like this before (well, since early school days anyway), I am pleased with the result.

It is a fitting tribute to my super champion boy, and everything that he means to me.

And made with love.

 

The Reading Residence

4 thoughts on “Creating mementoes of Hugo

  1. thereadingresidence says:

    Oh, that is just beautiful, Leigh. Such a lovely idea to press the flowers, and I’m pleased that some of them at least pressed and preserved well for you. I love that finished tribute, full of so much meaning and made with so much love. Very fitting for your special Hugo. Thanks so much for sharing with #PaperyPeep

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

