M is for My Family

Ok, I’m being a bit greedy. The three things in this post are intrinsically linked and cannot be separated.

IMG_20140806_130130

M is for Martin.

My partner of nearly 15 years.

Hugo’s proud daddy.

This is Martin’s first photo with Hugo.

Hugo has the best daddy any little boy could wish for.

mumhugonew

M is for Mummy

I am Hugo’s proud mummy.

Our skin-to-skin cuddles were the most precious times of my life.

You can see that in the look on my face.

Even though Hugo is no longer in my arms,Β I am still Hugo’s mummy.

I will always be Hugo’s mummy.

IMG_20140806_130743

M is for Monkey

Hugo might have weighed just 420 grams at birth.

He might have spent his life attached to a ventilator.

It didn’t stop him being a naughty little monkey.

I loved him so much for that.

A few moments before the above photo was taken, Hugo had wriggled his arm out of his armguard and with a final disdainful flourish, chucked it to the other side of his incubator.

Hugo was a very feisty determined little boy.

He entertained us so much with his antics.

I miss him every day.

Linking up with the #alphabetphoto project at PODCast Dove


 photo 4d06e438-4e6a-4f3b-88b2-0c1093350397_zps361ad0e9.jpg

8 thoughts on “M is for My Family

  1. Heather Adams says:

    These micropreemies can be very naughty lil monkeys! My 25wkr pulled out his tubes and lines several times while he was in the NICU. He was born January 16 2014 (2lbs 2oz, 14.5in) via c-section, bc I also had preeclampsia, but mine was due to the fact that I needed open heart surgery to replace my aortic valve and to repair a 5.2cm thoracic aneurysm. I was 28yrs/o never knew I had heart problems until my aorta dissected at 21wks gestation… I was given the choice to have an abortion to save my own life or risk it to have him. Ofcourse I chose to risk it… Wyatt was wanted too badly, he is the first between my husband and I, but we each have 2 children from a prior relationship- my two are 9 and 7, his are 7 and almost 6. My husband had lost his first son, Adam when he and his ex-wife got into a car accident when she was just 5mos pregnant. I told my husband that when I get my necklace with our children’s birthstones on it that I would like to include Adam’s as well. I don’t know what it feels like to lose a child, but I do know what it is to know that you will do anything to give them a fighting chance. I know how hard and scary it is to be a parent with an extremely premature baby in the NICU and being 2 or more hrs away- I was life flighted to a hospital almost 3hrs away from home.. my husband and other children. I was in and out (mostly in… Out for a week tops until March) of that hospital for 4mos bc of blood clots in my lungs and then I would hemorrhage from my uterus bc I was put on coumadin so soon after the c-section and had to have 7 blood transfusions within a month… So anytime I felt OK enough, I went down to the NICU to be with Wyatt for as long as possible… It drove the Drs. nuts, but I missed him so badly and I felt responsible for him being born so early. To this day, even though he is very healthy and happy I still feel regret and guilt that I couldn’t carry him longer. Even though he had to be given steriods to be taken off the ventilator, he remained on oxygen until May… He ended up having a Gtube put in bc he couldnt eat well and was finally able to come home May 27th. I am so thankful for him and do not take him for granted, I faced the possibility of losing him and that was hard enough! Thank you for what sharing your precious baby boy and telling us about him!! I am sorry he is not here with you now! He is beautiful little one!

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Gosh, yes these micropreemies can get up to all sorts of mischief, like you wouldn’t believe! You have an incredible story. I’m so glad your story has a happy ending. Thank you for reading our story and for your kind words xxx

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

