Positive

Last weekend, a friend nominated me to detail three positive thoughts for five days. It’s the latest thing to be doing the rounds on Facebook.

I duly wrote my daily three positive thoughts, and in turn nominated three other friends on each of the five days.

Some of my positive thoughts include:

1. I am alive! This can never be overrated. Having suffered a life-threatening illness earlier this year, I really do appreciate still being here.

2. SANDS Australia shared my Start a Conversation about Baby Loss post on their Facebook page, generating many kind comments from other parents who have lost their babies. A friend said she’s using the same post for some bereavement training she’s doing. This post has been so resonant with many people, and I am very touched that Hugo’s legacy is reaching so far. It really does mean the world to me.

3. Going for a walk in the park, and stopping for cake.

4. A beautiful, sunny day.

5. A good gym session – it was my first for two weeks. Despite my legs aching on a particular machine and being tempted to give up, I persevered and completed my time. For once, there was even decent-ish music on the telly, rather than the dance noise that passes for music these days.

Facebook is often berated – justifiably so, if you see the bitching, moaning, trolling and scams that too often fill our newsfeeds. However, the ‘three positives for five days’ represent how social media can be used for constructive uses.

Research has shown that sustained, regular positive thinking can help improve your outlook on life, make you feel more confident, assert control over your life and achieve your goals. In short, make you feel happier.

Happiness is what we all strive for, isn’t it?

Many of us (myself included) can fall in to the trap of using social media to complain – about our jobs, our spouses, our families, our friends, our pets…anything, really. It can be cathartic, a useful way to vent and get our frustrations off our chests every so often.

Getting in to the habit of positive thinking – and seeing the positives in any situation, no matter how crap our day has been or how difficult the situation is – is bound to improve our happiness over the long term.

The ‘three positives for five days’ was a useful exercise for me. I am generally inclined towards being positive, but this year’s events have tested this inclination to the limit.

I enjoyed celebrating the small positives in each day. For me, it served as a reflection that many of greatest pleasures in life are also the simplest: sunshine, cake, a walk in the park.

Reflecting on the positives has made me feel a little bit happier.

It has felt good to feel positive, and reflect on what is good about each day. I’ve now finished my five days, but it is something I will try to do every day – if only in my head.

Hopefully my happiness will increase – proportionate with my positivity.

20140801_114813-1

 

 

 

The Reading Residence

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “Positive

  1. Astrid says:

    I am loving your positive thoughts. It is especially good that your post was shared and it generated so many kind comments from other parents who’ve lost their babies. I was actually visiting from #PoCoLo, but your blog wouldn’t load (and neither would Victoria’s and ugh my Internet is way slow), so I just went with the first post that would actually load to comment on. It’s such an uplifting read! I am going to read your story now. I am the oldest surviving child of a mother who was pregnant several times before giving birth to me (in the ’80s, so though some were viable by today’s standards she wasn’t even allowed to see her babies). Though she didn’t have HELLP syndrome, I was a preemie. I haven’t yet read your story so I don’t know whether Hugo was a preemie or you had HELLP when pregnant with him, but I feel a strong sense of sympathy for you because of what my mother went through (and I did as a baby).

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read my posts, and make a comment. It’s sad to read that your mum had so many losses and wasn’t able to see her precious babies. I’m glad to hear that you are a preemie who is now doing so well. xxx

      Like

  2. Mummy Says says:

    Such a wonderful post Leigh. I hadn’t thought about the Facebook game in this light at all. I’m so glad it made you feel a bit more positive, and yes, you are right, what a wonderful way to use social media, instead of using it to moan about things! xx

    Like

    • Leigh Kendall says:

      Thank you. It is so refreshing to read some positive thoughts on Facebook. I love your view on the game in your post, and it’s wonderful to see that you count your blessings while having a balanced view on the reality of life xxx

      Like

  3. thereadingresidence says:

    You are so right, Leigh. I’ve seen this on Facebook, too, and it does make a nice change to my feed filling with moans and gripes. It can be easy not to spot the positives sometimes, so stopping and searching for them can really change your outlook and be much needed. And so pleased for you to have your post reach so far and help so many, too x Thanks for sharing with #WotW

    Like

  4. joedalio says:

    Thank you for the wonderful inspiration! I strongly believe that happiness does indeed increase in proportion with your positivity. Also, the more thankful you are for the small things in life, the more you will receive greater blessings. Have a great weekend 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

