The potential of being limitless

Watching the film Limitless recently got me thinking how awesome it would be if I had the same abilities.

If you haven’t seen the film Bradley Cooper plays Eddie, a struggling writer who, lacking motivation to finish his first novel and recently dumped by his girlfriend, takes a pill offered by his friend. Under the influence of the pill, he turns his life around: not only does he complete his novel, he learns several new languages, becomes a stock millionaire and wins back his girlfriend.

Of course, Eddie is completely dependent on the drug for his mind’s lack of limitations. As such, it is also a bit of an allegory about drug dependence.

I’m not saying I would love some mind-bending drugs (my brain suffers enough fog from over-the-counter hayfever tablets). But who wouldn’t turn down the opportunity to emulate Eddie’s achievements by realising all their ambitions without any of those tedious things like time, tiredness or brain-fog?

So, what would I do if I was limitless? So many things! What amazing potential! Here are a few of the ambitions that feature of the top of my limitless wish list:

1. Read all the books in my reading pile I love books and reading. Being incapable of walking out of any book shop empty-handed, I have a rather tall stack of books to read. As it is constantly being added to, it the scale never diminishes. Curling up with a good book is one of my great indulgences but there are so many books! So little time! I would love to be able to devour all my books like that robot in Short Circuit (remember that ’80s ‘classic’?).

2. Do all my reading, catch up with friends, and the housework and the ironing, etc, etc… Once I start reading, I can get through a book pretty quickly, but once my nose is buried in a book that’s that – little else gets done. Wouldn’t it be fabulous to be able to spend the weekend doing the things you enjoy like reading, have time to catch up with friends and family AND get all the housework done – rather than try to do it all and collapse in a heap on a Sunday evening frustrated that the merry-go-round is about to start all over again?

3. Learn languages Finding the way languages were taught in school terribly tedious, I have only a basic smattering of a few languages (French, Spanish, German, Russian and Japanese, since you ask). While that doesn’t seem too bad a list, when I say basic, I mean basic. I cast my mind back to being in the lunchtime rush in a cute little Parisian patisserie, attempting to order in the local lingo. Lunchtime supplies were got (eventually) and fellow shoppers were amused.Β  It would be amazing to be able to fully read and converse in any of these languages. Overnight, preferably. With none of that tiresome learn-by-rote tenses nonsense.

4. Remember anecdotes and joke punchlines A good belly-laugh is good for the soul and raises those feel-happy endorphins. That means the ability to make others laugh is a great thing to have. The trouble is, forgetting the punchline of any joke or anecdote (or getting it all muddled) does tend to spoil it somewhat. So, a proficiency in jokes makes it on to my limitless shopping list.

Now, over to you: what would you do if you were limitless?

2 thoughts on “The potential of being limitless

I'd love to know your thoughts...

