Make good grammar your business

This week, there has been a lot of talk in the media about new grammar tests for school children.

Judging by the standard of many shops’ signs, adverts and even some newspaper articles correct grammar, spelling and punctuation is something that many people don’t understand.

Many a time, I have wished I had a camera handy to capture signs that have promoted B&Bs’ ‘accomodation’, florists selling flower’s, or bars that have specials available only on weekend’s.

Ouch. That hurt.

I am known as being particularly anal (I prefer ‘passionate’) about correct spelling, grammar and punctuation. Of course, mistakes are human and we can all make typos. This post will be checked very carefully indeed before pressing ‘publish’! Oh, the irony…

Anyway, back to the business owners. I do despair when signs or adverts contain basic errors as I wonder whether that lack of attention to detail is indicative of the quality of their goods or services. Whether it is a genuine mistake or a lack of double-checking, proprietors could be inadvertently damaging their bottom line through carelessness.

I don’t think I am alone in boycotting businesses with sloppy marketing, so this is a call to proprietors everywhere: profit from proofreading.

There are a few simple grammar rules to follow and lots of places to get help or tips.

Here are a couple of good ones:

http://www.oup.com/uk/booksites/content/0199296251/essentials/punctuationtips/

http://www.thepunctuationguide.com/top-ten.html

Talk of contractions and possession might seem intimidating, but give them a go. Your business deserves it!

I will leave the final word with a classic from Texts from Dog.

Image courtesy of textfromdog.tumblr.com

Image courtesy of textfromdog.tumblr.com

3 thoughts on “Make good grammar your business

  1. jenniferhelps says:

    Wow! I LOVE this post, and I agree with YOU!
    I am also known as being particularly passionate about correct spelling, grammar and punctuation! However, I sometimes use an overabundance of exclamation points, but never more than one at a time.

    Please, keep up the awesome work!

    Like

I'd love to know your thoughts...

